Updates will not be about a week. Health problems. Hope for understanding.

Gerry Mulligan - Re-Birth of the Cool (1992) [Cool]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

West Coast Jazz, Soul-Jazz, Standards
User avatar
Posts: 21605
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Gerry Mulligan - Re-Birth of the Cool (1992) [Cool]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 12 Jan 2017, 07:32

Artist: Gerry Mulligan
Album: Re-Birth of the Cool
Genre: Cool
Label: GRP Records
Released: 1992
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. Israel (Carisi) - 3:43
  2. Deception (Davis) - 4:43
  3. Move (Best) - 3:57
  4. Rouge (Lewis) - 4:22
  5. Rocker (Mulligan) - 3:09
  6. Godchild (Wallington) - 4:13
  7. Moon Dreams (MacGregor-Mercer) - 4:21
  8. Venus de Milo (Mulligan) - 4:16
  9. Budo (Powell-Davis) - 3:49
  10. Boplicity (Henry) - 3:21
  11. Darn That Dream (DeLange-Van Heusen) - 5:27
  12. Jeru (Mulligan) - 4:42

Download from alfafile.net

To download faster without limits and to support jazznblues.club -
buy a premium account on Alfafile through our files via VISA/Master Card.
Thank to everyone, who supports us - we wouldn't be able to have this site without you!

  • Gerry Mulligan - baritone saxophone
  • Bill Barber - tuba
  • Dave Bargeron - trombone
  • Phil Woods - alto saxophone
  • Wallace Roney - trumpet
  • John Clark - French horn
  • Dean Johnson - bass
  • John Lewis - piano
  • Ron Vincent - drums
  • Mel Torme - vocal (#11)

In the summer of 1991 Gerry Mulligan decided to revisit Miles Davis's Birth of the Cool recordings. He discussed it with Miles Davis himself who said he might be interested in participating but sadly Davis died a few months later. With Wallace Roney (the perfect sound-alike) in the trumpeter's place, baritonist Mulligan got the band's original pianist and tuba player (John Lewis and Bill Barber), used his own bassist (Dean Johnson) and drummer (Ron Vincent), and found able substitutes in altoist Phil Woods (unfortunately Lee Konitz was unavailable to play his old parts), trombonist Dave Bargeron and John Clark on French horn. This GRP CD brings back the dozen Birth of the Cool recordings of 1949-50 with Mel Torme taking Pancho Hagood's vocal on "Darn That Dream." Although the charts are the same (and it is a particular pleasure to listen to them with the improved recording quality), the solos are all different and in many cases have been lengthened; no need to stick to only three minutes apiece. This fascinating disc is most highly recommended to veteran jazz collectors who know the original Birth of the Cool records.
Review by Scott Yanow

Return to “Mainstream Jazz, Cool (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”