Gábor Szabó - Mizrab (1972/2006) [Mainstream Jazz, Cool]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

West Coast Jazz, Soul-Jazz, Standards
User avatar
Posts: 54552
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Gábor Szabó - Mizrab (1972/2006) [Mainstream Jazz, Cool]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 25 Apr 2017, 08:29

Artist: Gábor Szabó
Album: Mizrab
Genre: Mainstream Jazz, Cool
Label: King Records
Released: 1972/2006
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. Mizrab 9:35
  2. Thirteen 9:16
  3. It's Going To Take Some Time 4:15
  4. Concerto 7:20
  5. Summer Breeze 6:07


  • Guitar: Gábor Szabó
  • Piano/Organ: Bob James
  • Bass: Ron Carter
  • Drums: Billy Cobham (1, 3), Jack DeJohnette
  • Percussion: Ralph MacDonald
  • Violin: Max Ellen, Paul Gershman, Harold Kohan, Charles Libove, Joe Malim, David Nadien, John Pintaualle, Irving Spice
  • Viola: Richard Dickler, Theodore Israel
  • Cello: Charles McCracken, George Ricci, Alan Shulman
  • Arco Bass: Ron Carter (4), Charles Israel
  • Harp: Margaret Ross
  • Trumpet/Flugelhorn: Marvin Stamm
  • Trombone: Wayne Andre
  • French Horn: James Buffington, Brooks Tillotson
  • Bassoon/Bass Clarinet: John Campo
  • Oboe/English Horn: Sidney Weinberg
  • Flute/Piccolo/Alto Flute/Bass Flute: Hubert Laws
  • Oboe/Clarinet/Recorders: George Marge

Gabor Szabo, who always had an original sound on the guitar (displaying his Hungarian heritage), is backed by a string section, horns and a rhythm section (including bassist Ron Carter and either Billy Cobham or Jack DeJohnette on drums) on this Bob James production. For the program which has not yet reissued on CD, Szabo performs two originals, a pair of pop tunes and an adaptation of a Shostakovich classical concerto. The music is well played but not particularly memorable.
Review by Scott Yanow

Return to “Mainstream Jazz, Cool (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”