Dave Brubeck - The Essential Dave Brubeck (2003) [Cool Jazz / West Coast Jazz]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

West Coast Jazz, Soul-Jazz, Standards
User avatar
Posts: 33978
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Dave Brubeck - The Essential Dave Brubeck (2003) [Cool Jazz / West Coast Jazz]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 20 Jun 2017, 17:28

Artist: Dave Brubeck
Album: The Essential Dave Brubeck
Genre: Cool Jazz / West Coast Jazz
Label: Columbia ‎/ Legacy
Released: 2003
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
    CD 1:
  1. Indiana
  2. Perdido
  3. Take The 'A' Train
  4. Le Souk
  5. Audrey
  6. The Duke
  7. In Your Own Sweet Way
  8. Weep No More
  9. Some Day My Prince Will Come
  10. Tangerine
  11. Brandenburg Gate
  12. Three To Get Ready
  13. Blue Rondo A La Turk
  14. There'll Be Some Changes Made

    CD 2:
  1. Take Five
  2. Maria
  3. It's A Raggy Waltz
  4. Unsquare Dance
  5. Kathy's Waltz
  6. Travelin' Blues
  7. Summer Song
  8. That Old Black Magic
  9. Bossa Nova U.S.A.
  10. Autumn In Washington Square
  11. Theme From 'Mr. Broadway'
  12. La Paloma Azul
  13. Recuerdo
  14. Caravan
  15. Star Dust
  16. Brother, Can you Spare A Dime?
  17. Love For Sale

Download from alfafile.net

This double-disc overview collects 31 tracks selected by Dave Brubeck and provides an excellent overview of his long career. While the temptation would be to concentrate on the wildly successful run of albums his quartet -- with saxophonist Paul Desmond, bassist Eugene Wright, and drummer Joe Morello -- cut for the label between 1958 and 1967, this compilation actually contains cuts from 24 albums recorded between 1949 and 2002, and draws from numerous labels, settings, concerts, and studio sessions. Certainly most of the hits are here, including "Take Five" and "Blue Rondo à la Turk," but so are lesser-known favorites from the early years, including live versions of Duke Ellington tunes such as "Perdido" and "Take the 'A' Train." In addition, Brubeck has often chosen mono versions over later stereo ones and the set is all the better for it -- go no further than the spooky modal blues called "Audrey" on disc one for proof. Disc two provides much of the better-known material, including some excellent takes on show tunes such as the theme from Mr. Broadway and "Maria" from West Side Story. While it's true that Time Out provides an excellent introduction to the music of Brubeck's famed quartet all by itself, this collection is a compelling introduction for the beginner to get the vast range of Dave Brubeck's musical range and complexities as a composer, as well as his dynamite presence as a performer.
Review by Thom Jurek

Return to “Mainstream Jazz, Cool (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”