Dave Brubeck - The Dave Brubeck Quartet at Wilshire Ebell (1953/2006) [Cool]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

West Coast Jazz, Soul-Jazz, Standards
User avatar
Posts: 33641
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Dave Brubeck - The Dave Brubeck Quartet at Wilshire Ebell (1953/2006) [Cool]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 23 Dec 2017, 07:14

Artist: Dave Brubeck
Album: The Dave Brubeck Quartet at Wilshire Ebell
Genre: Cool
Label: Fresh Sound Records
Released: 1953/2006
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. I'll Never Smile Again (Lowe) - 7:55
  2. Let's Fall in Love (Arlen-Koehler) - 4:37
  3. Stardust (Carmichael-Parish) - 6:32
  4. All the Things You Are (Kern-Hammerstein) - 6:54
  5. Why Do I Love (Kern) - 2:44
  6. Too Marvelous for Words (Whiting) - 8:06
  7. Blue Moon (Rodgers-Hart) - 8:10
  8. Let's Fall in Love (Arlen-Koehler) - 7:13
  9. Tea for Two (Youmans-Caesar) - 6:59
  10. Jeepers Creepers (Warren-Mercer) - 7:26
  11. My Heart Stood Still (Rodgers-Hart) - 3:24

Download from alfafile.net

  • Paul Desmond - alto saxophone
  • Dave Brubeck - piano
  • Ron Crotty - bass
  • Lloyd Davis - drums

Dave Brubeck was a pioneer in the presentation of intimate concerts in colleges and universities and in the better small concert halls. The show at the Wilshire Ebell theatre, in Los Angeles, was one of the later, and probably one of Brubecks biggest personal triumphs to date. It set high artistic standards mainly thanks to the college students (UCLA) who were aiming to bring good jazz groups to the creative atmosphere of the concert stage.

The event was recorded by Dick Bock, and appears now for the first time on CD. That year 1953, the Brubeck Quartet won both the Down Beat popularity poll, and the Down Beat critics poll. After this, he would soon become the most popular jazz artist since Benny Goodman.

Return to “Mainstream Jazz, Cool (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”