Clark Terry & Chico O'Farrill - Spanish Rice (1966/2004) [Mainstream Jazz]; FLAC (image+.cue)

West Coast Jazz, Soul-Jazz, Standards
User avatar
Posts: 40357
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Clark Terry & Chico O'Farrill - Spanish Rice (1966/2004) [Mainstream Jazz]; FLAC (image+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 18 Apr 2018, 18:01

Artist: Clark Terry & Chico O'Farrill
Album: Spanish Rice
Genre: Mainstream Jazz
Label: Impulse!/Verve
Released: 1966/2004
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue)
  1. Peanut Vendor (2:18)
  2. Angelitos Negros (2:41)
  3. El Cumbanchero (2:13)
  4. Joonji (3:37)
  5. Que Sera (2:45)
  6. Mexican Hat Dance (2:42)
  7. Spanish Rice (2:47)
  8. Say Si Si (2:31)
  9. Macarena (La Virgen de la Macarena) (3:02)
  10. Tin Tin Deo (2:46)
  11. Contigo en la Distancia (3:03)
  12. Happiness Is (3:21)


  • Clark Terry - vocals, trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Chico O'Farrill - arranger, conductor
  • Snooky Young, Ernie Royal, Joe Newman - trumpet
  • Everett Barksdale, Barry Galbraith - guitar
  • George Duvivier - bass
  • Grady Tate - drums

Clark Terry joined forces with Cuban bandleader Chico O'Farrill for these 1966 studio session, which consist almost exclusively of Latin tunes. Although there are a number of all-stars present in addition to Terry, including trumpeters Joe Newman, Ernie Royal, and Snooky Young, along with guitarists Everett Barksdale and Barry Galbraith, the solos are all by Terry, so there is little interaction in these brief charts. Terry is in top form, as always, with his rich flügelhorn in "Angelitos Negros" and his fat-toned trumpet in an original blues called "Joonji." Terry and O'Farrill collaborated on the narrative comic original "Spanish Rice," though it isn't particularly memorable. Terry's modification of the lyrics to "Happiness Is" salutes a number of fellow jazz greats (particularly his impression of Louis Armstrong's singing), though the anonymous vocal group that accompanies him is quite forgettable. This is a fun recording that had the potential to be a memorable one, but it falls a bit short.
Review by Ken Dryden

Return to “Mainstream Jazz, Cool (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”