Joe Pass – Portraits Of Duke Ellington (1974) [Bop, Mainstream Jazz]; FLAC (image+.cue)

West Coast Jazz, Soul-Jazz, Standards
User avatar
Posts: 49675
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Joe Pass – Portraits Of Duke Ellington (1974) [Bop, Mainstream Jazz]; FLAC (image+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 22 Jun 2018, 06:42

Artist: Joe Pass
Album: Portraits Of Duke Ellington
Genre: Bop, Mainstream Jazz
Label: Pablo Records
Released: 1974
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue)
  1. Satin Doll
  2. I Let a Song Go Out of My Heart
  3. Sophisticated Lady
  4. I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
  5. In a Mellow Tone
  6. Solitude
  7. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  8. Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me
  9. Caravan


  • Joe Pass - Guitar
  • Ray Brown - Bass
  • Bobby Durham – Drums

Recorded just a month after Duke Ellington's death, this tribute album (reissued on CD) features guitarist Joe Pass (just beginning to become famous), bassist Ray Brown, and drummer Bobby Durham jamming on eight Ellington tunes and "Caravan" (which was penned by one of Duke's key sidemen, Juan Tizol). The interplay between the three musicians is quite impressive, and Pass' mastery of the guitar is obvious (he didn't really need the other sidemen). Highlights include "In a Mellow Tone," "Don't Get Around Much Anymore," and "I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)." Recommended.
Review by Scott Yanow

Return to “Mainstream Jazz, Cool (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”