Billy Cobham - Spectrum (1973/2016) [Fusion, Jazz-Funk, Jazz-Rock]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Jazz-Rock, Jazz-Funk, Jazzy Blues
User avatar
Posts: 49570
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Billy Cobham - Spectrum (1973/2016) [Fusion, Jazz-Funk, Jazz-Rock]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 16 Dec 2018, 13:04

Artist: Billy Cobham
Album: Spectrum
Genre: Fusion, Jazz-Funk, Jazz-Rock
Label: Audio Fidelity
Released: 1973/2016
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. Quadrant 4 (Cobham) - 4:32
  2. Searching for the Right Door/Spectrum (Cobham) - 6:34
  3. Anxiety/Taurian Matador (Cobham) - 4:48
  4. Stratus (Cobham) - 9:50
  5. To the Women in My Life/Le Lis (Cobham) - 4:11
  6. Snoopy's Search/Red Baron (Cobham) - 7:45


  • Billy Cobham - drums, percussion, production
  • Jan Hammer - electric and acoustic pianos, Moog synthesizer
  • Ken Scott - recording and re-mix engineering
  • Tommy Bolin - guitar (#1,3b,4,6b)
  • Lee Sklar - electric bass (#1,3b,4,6b)
  • Joe Farrell (#2b,5b) - soprano and alto saxes, flute
  • Jimmy Owens (#2b,5b) - flugelhorn, trumpet
  • John Tropea - guitar (#5b)
  • Ron Carter - acoustic bass (#2b,5b)
  • Ray Barretto - congas (#2b,5b)

Drummer Billy Cobham was fresh from his success with the Mahavishnu Orchestra when he recorded his debut album, which is still his best. Most of the selections showcase Cobham in a quartet with keyboardist Jan Hammer, guitarist Tommy Bolin, and electric bassist Lee Sklar. Two other numbers include Joe Farrell on flute and soprano and trumpeter Jimmy Owens with guitarist John Tropea, Hammer, bassist Ron Carter, and Ray Barretto on congas. The generally high-quality compositions (which include "Red Baron") make this fusion set a standout, a strong mixture of rock-ish rhythms and jazz improvising.
Review by Scott Yanow

Return to “Jazz Fusion (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”