The Isley Brothers - Winner Takes All (1979/1989) [Funk, Soul]; FLAC (image+.cue)

Funk, Soul, R&B
User avatar
Posts: 40357
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

The Isley Brothers - Winner Takes All (1979/1989) [Funk, Soul]; FLAC (image+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 16 Dec 2018, 14:21

Artist: The Isley Brothers
Album: Winner Takes All
Genre: Funk, Soul
Label: CBS/T-Neck Records
Released: 1979/1989
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue)
  1. I Wanna Be With You, Parts 1 & 2 (6:22)
  2. Liquid Love (5:18)
  3. Winner Takes All (4:18)
  4. Life In The City (7:56)
  5. It's a Disco Night (Rock Don't Stop), Parts 1 & 2 (5:17)
  6. (Can't You See) What You Do To Me (4:13)
  7. Let's Fall in Love, Parts 1 & 2 (4:43)
  8. How Lucky I Am, Parts 1 & 2 (5:43)
  9. You're the Key to My Heart (3:23)
  10. You're Beside Me, Parts 1 & 2 (5:39)
  11. Let Me in Your Life, Parts 1 & 2 (5:11)
  12. Love Comes and Goes, Parts 1 & 2 (5:09)
  13. Go for What You Know (3:27)
  14. Mind Over Matter, Parts 1 & 2 (6:04)


Winner Takes All was originally released as a two-album set, which reflected how popular the Isley Brothers were during this period of time. It features some rather lengthy but entertaining pieces. Ronald Isley's silky tenor remains untarnished throughout the album. "I Wanna Be with You" made its claim on the Billboard R&B charts, peaking at number one. "Winner Takes All" and "It's a Disco Night" followed in that order and only managed to reach numbers 38 and 27, respectively. Decent songs they are, but not as explosive as some of the Isley Brothers previously released up-tempo numbers. And as danceable as they, they come closer to good-listening songs. However, there are three solid ballads: "Let's Fall in Love," "How Lucky I Am" and "You're the Key to My Heart." Not one ever made a chart appearance, but all three remain popular to radio.
Review by Craig Lytle

Return to “Funk, Soul, R&B (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”