FileCat premium

Charlie Byrd - Christmas Carols for Solo Guitar (1966/1997) [Mainstream Jazz, Cool]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

West Coast Jazz, Soul-Jazz, Standards
User avatar
Posts: 58016
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Charlie Byrd - Christmas Carols for Solo Guitar (1966/1997) [Mainstream Jazz, Cool]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 06 Jan 2021, 12:24

Artist: Charlie Byrd
Album: Christmas Carols for Solo Guitar
Genre: Mainstream Jazz, Cool
Label: Columbia Jazz
Released: 1966/1997
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. O Holy Night (3:21)
  2. The Bells of Bethlehem (2:10)
  3. God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen (2:54)
  4. Silent NIght, Holy Night (1:54)
  5. Do You Hear What I Hear? (1:36)
  6. Oh Little Town of Bethlehem (1:45)
  7. Joy to the World (1:19)
  8. What Child Is This? (Green Sleeves) (1:42)
  9. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing (1:41)
  10. Coventry Carol (2:04)
  11. Good King Wenceslas (1:10)
  12. The First Noel (2:15)
  13. It Came Upon the Midnight Clear (1:42)
  14. We Three Kings (1:42)


Christmas Carols for Solo Guitar is a lovely, understated collection that's not only ideal as low-key holiday music, but it's also a good showcase for Byrd's interpretive talents. He doesn't necessarily reinvent these songs, but his tasteful, elegant readings of "O Holy Night," "God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen," "Joy to the World," "What Child Is This? (Greensleeves)," "The First Noel" and "It Came Upon the Midnight Clear" are certainly individual. Holiday music is rarely this graceful; for fans of pretty instrumentals and accomplished guitar playing, this is a perfect Christmas record.
Review by Robert Lovering

Return to “Mainstream Jazz, Cool (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”