Miles Davis Quintet - No Blues (1990) [Hard Bop]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Hard Bop, Post-Bop, Neo-Bop
User avatar
Posts: 53889
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Miles Davis Quintet - No Blues (1990) [Hard Bop]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 25 Mar 2021, 16:51

Artist: Miles Davis Quintet
Album: No Blues
Genre: Hard Bop
Label: Jazz Music Yesterday
Released: 1990
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. 'Round About Midnight (Monk) - 8:07
  2. No Blues (Davis) - 13:01
  3. Masqualero (Shorter) - 10:42
  4. I Fall in Love Too Easily (Styne) - 7:54
  5. Riot (Hancock) - 6:07
  6. Walkin' (Carpenter) - 9:10
  7. Green Dolphin Street (Kaper) - 16:40
  8. The Theme (Davis) - 0:46


  • Miles Davis - trumpet
  • Wayne Shorter - tenor saxophone
  • Herbie Hancock - piano
  • Ron Carter - bass
  • Tony Williams - drums

The Miles Davis Quintet only recorded new material during 1965-68 but in their live performances they still played some of the trumpeter's older standards. Until recent times, few of the live sessions by the Quintet made it onto record but this very valuable CD features the group in late 1967 playing such songs (for nearly the final time) as "'Round Midnight," "No Blues," "I Fall in Love Too Easily," "Walkin'" and "Green Dolphin Street" in addition to the newer songs "Mascalero" and "Riot." It is utterly fascinating to hear the Quintet at that late date stretching out on these veteran songs and coming up with fresh new ideas one more time. This Italian import is well worth searching for; it fills an important gap in jazz history.
Review by Scott Yanow

Return to “Bop (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”