Thomas Strønen, Ayumi Tanaka, Marthe Lea - Bayou (2021) [Modern Creative, Chamber Jazz]; FLAC (tracks)

Chamber Jazz, Improvised Music, Avant-Garde Crossover
User avatar
Posts: 56492
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Thomas Strønen, Ayumi Tanaka, Marthe Lea - Bayou (2021) [Modern Creative, Chamber Jazz]; FLAC (tracks)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 14 Apr 2021, 16:59

Artist: Thomas Strønen, Ayumi Tanaka, Marthe Lea
Album: Bayou
Genre: Modern Creative, Chamber Jazz
Label: ECM Records
Released: 2021
Quality: FLAC (tracks)
  1. Bayou (5:39)
  2. Pasha (6:28)
  3. Duryea (3:37)
  4. Nahla (3:44)
  5. Varsha (4:04)
  6. Eyre (4:27)
  7. Dwyn (4:15)
  8. Bayou II (1:02)
  9. Como (3:03)
  10. Chantara (5:41)


  • Ayumi Tanaka: piano
  • Marthe Lea: clarinet, vocals, percussion
  • Thomas Strønen: drums, percussion

A fresh and open music, delicate and space-conscious, is shaped as drummer Thomas Stronen and Ayumi Tanaka, previously heard in the ensemble Time Is A Blind Guide on 'Lucus', resurface in a new trio with clarinettist/singer/percussionist Marthe Lea.

The group first came together at Oslos Royal Academy of Music, where for two years the players would meet each week for exploratory music making. Stronen: We always played freely- drifting between elements of contemporary classical music, folk music, jazz, whatever we were inspired by. Sometimes the music was very quiet and minimalistic: playing together generated some special experiences.

The spontaneous spirit of the music is reflected in the trios debut recording, which was made at the Lugano radio studio and produced by Manfred Eicher. With the exception of the title piece, based on a traditional Norwegian tune, the music on Bayou was collectively created in the moment.

Return to “Modern Creative, Third Stream (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”