Alex Sipiagin - Upstream (2021) [Contemporary Jazz]; FLAC (tracks)

Hard Bop, Post-Bop, Neo-Bop
User avatar
Posts: 57146
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Alex Sipiagin - Upstream (2021) [Contemporary Jazz]; FLAC (tracks)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 15 May 2021, 14:50

Artist: Alex Sipiagin
Album: Upstream
Genre: Contemporary Jazz
Label: Posi-Tone Records
Released: 2021
Quality: FLAC (tracks)
  1. Call (5:23)
  2. Echo Canyon (5:31)
  3. Sight (5:21)
  4. SipaTham (6:21)
  5. Magic Square (5:45)
  6. Rain (7:10)
  7. Shura (6:46)
  8. Miyako (5:00)
  9. Upstream (7:38)


  • Alex Sipiagin - trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Art Hirahara - piano
  • Boris Kozlov - bass
  • Rudy Royston - drums

Trumpeter Alex Sipiagin has grown tremendously in recent years – and a record like this is a fantastic demonstration of his talents as both an instrumentals and as a composer – and also as a leader of a very well-matched group! The combo is a quartet, but soar out with a spirit that makes you feel like you're hearing the energy of a much larger ensemble – a quality that maybe comes in part from the work of pianist Art Hirihara, who always seems to have this grand sense of flow – driven on strongly here by the bass of Boris Kozlov and drums of Rudy Royston! Sipiagin is majestic throughout – able to fly to the heavens at some points, but then be very down to earth and personal at others – on titles that include "Sight", "Call", "Rain", "Shura", "Echo Canyon", "Upstream", and "Magic Square".

Return to “Bop (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”