Eddie Russ - Fresh Out (1974/2012) [Jazz-Funk, Fusion]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Jazz-Rock, Jazz-Funk, Jazzy Blues
User avatar
Posts: 56492
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Eddie Russ - Fresh Out (1974/2012) [Jazz-Funk, Fusion]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 17 Aug 2021, 05:41

Artist: Eddie Russ
Album: Fresh Out
Genre: Jazz-Funk, Fusion
Label: Soul Jazz Records
Released: 1974/2012
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. The Lope Song (6:40)
  2. All But Blind (10:08)
  3. Shamading (5:04)
  4. Hill Where The Lord Hides (6:36)
  5. You Are The Sunshine Of My Life (8:28)
  6. Watergate Blues (6:02)


  • Eddie Russ - el-p
  • Larry Nozero - ss, fl
  • Jerry Glassel, Melvin Clark - g
  • Larry Rhodes, Ron Brooks - b
  • Danny Spencer - d
  • Calvin Welch - d, cga, perc
  • Dave Sporny - tb
  • Dan Yessian Jazz Horns
  • Greg Miller - string ensemble

A landmark bit of indie funk from the 70s – one of the few records cut by Detroit keyboardist Eddie Russ, and easily the best! The album features Russ going to town on electric piano – working with a hip combo called The Mixed Bag, which features some wicked work on flute and soprano sax by Larry Nozero – and a vibe that's a lot more laidback than standard funk, or even more mainstream jazz funk too – a sweet open groove that's mighty nice all the way through! The album's really a showcase for Nozero and Russ' solos – trading back and forth effortlessly over long tunes that roll along in a sweet electric-tinged groove – long vamping rhythms that really seem to drive both players onto new heights.

Return to “Jazz Fusion (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”