FileCat premium

The Temptations - Psychedelic Soul (2003) [Psychedelic, Soul, Funk]; FLAC (tracks)

Funk, Soul, R&B
User avatar
Posts: 62204
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

The Temptations - Psychedelic Soul (2003) [Psychedelic, Soul, Funk]; FLAC (tracks)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 02 Oct 2021, 02:51

Artist: The Temptations
Album: Psychedelic Soul
Genre: Psychedelic, Soul, Funk
Label: Motown
Released: 2003
Quality: FLAC (tracks)
    CD 1:
  1. Cloud Nine (Album Version)
  2. Runaway Child, Running Wild (Album Version)
  3. Don't Let The Joneses Get You Down (Album Version (Stereo))
  4. I Can't Get Next To You (Album Version)
  5. Message From A Black Man (Stereo)
  6. Slave (Album Version)
  7. Psychedelic Shack (Extended Version)
  8. You Make Your Own Heaven And Hell Right Here On Earth (Album Version)
  9. Hum Along And Dance (Album Version)
  10. Take A Stroll Thru Your Mind (Album Version)
  11. War (Album Version)
  12. Friendship Train (Album Version)
  13. Ball Of Confusion (That's What The World Is Today) (Alternate Mix)

    CD 2:
  1. Smiling Faces Sometimes (Album Version)
  2. Ungena Za Ulimengu (Unite The World)
  3. Love Can Be Anything (Can't Nothing Be Love But Love) (Album Version)
  4. Take A Look Around (Extended Version)
  5. Superstar (Remember How You Got Where You Are) (Album Version)
  6. Funky Music Sho Nuff Turns Me On (Album Version)
  7. Papa Was A Rollin' Stone (Full Version)
  8. Plastic Man (Album Version)
  9. Masterpiece (Album Version)
  10. Ain't No Justice (Album Version)
  11. 1990 (Album Version)


Two big changes happened for the Temptations in 1968. First, they parted ways with David Ruffin and brought in former Contour Dennis Edwards as lead vocalist. Edwards brought a rougher-edged soul sound to the group with his raw vocals. Secondly, they decided that the world of music was changing and they were standing still. The group went to producer Norman Whitfield and asked for a song that was more in tune with the volatile and psychedelic times. Whitfield came back with the incredible, layered, dense, and still funky "Cloud Nine," the song was a smash, and a new, more progressive era of the Temptations began. The double-disc Psychedelic Soul chronicles the best moments of the incredible union between Whitfield's forward-looking and innovative writing and production and the Temptations' incredible voices. The record picks up the big hits like "Cloud Nine," "I Can't Get Next to You," "Psychedelic Shack" (here in a previously unreleased extended version), "Ball of Confusion" (also here in a previously unreleased extended version), "Masterpiece," and "Papa Was a Rollin' Stone." It also fills in the gaps with a lot of album tracks from records the Temptations made between 1968 and 1973. Some of the highlights are the gripping "Slave," the funky "Hum Along and Dance," the very long and dramatic version of the Undisputed Truth's hit "Smiling Faces Sometimes," the hard-rocking "Ungema Za Ulimengu (Unite the World)," and the dubby, freewheeling "Funky Music Sho Nuff Turns Me On." By the end of disc two, the group slides toward Philly soul, albeit with an angry, political outlook especially on the heartbroken "Ain't No Justice" or the vitriolic "1990" from 1973. This is a well-selected disc that is a fitting testament to the talents of Whitfield and a stunning example of a band reinventing itself. Of course, it is also great funky dance music -- supercharged, psychedelic funky dance music, some of the best music Motown (or anyone) produced in the late '60s/early '70s.

Return to “Funk, Soul, R&B (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”