FileCat premium

Harry Allen - Hits By Brits (2007) [Mainstream Jazz]; FLAC (tracks)

West Coast Jazz, Soul-Jazz, Standards
User avatar
Posts: 65727
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Harry Allen - Hits By Brits (2007) [Mainstream Jazz]; FLAC (tracks)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 17 Jun 2022, 19:30

Artist: Harry Allen
Album: Hits By Brits
Genre: Mainstream Jazz
Label: Challenge Records
Released: 2007
Quality: FLAC (tracks)
  1. Cherokee
  2. Roses of Picardy
  3. Just In Time
  4. These Foolish Things
  5. I Hadn't Anyone Till You
  6. You're Blasé
  7. Limehouse Blues
  8. A Nightingale Sang In Berkely Square
  9. Got A Date With An Angel
  10. The Very Thought Of You


  • Harry Allen - tenor saxophone
  • John Allred – trombone
  • Joe Cohn – guitar
  • Joel Forbes - bass guitar
  • Chuck Riggs - drums

A superior swing-based tenor saxophonist influenced by Stan Getz and Scott Hamilton, Harry Allen has made an increasingly strong reputation during numerous recordings and countless live appearances. But even with his growing discography, Hits by Brits may very well be Allen's finest all-round recording, at least to date. He absolutely burns on the uptempo pieces ("Cherokee," "Roses of Picardy," "Just in Time," and "Limehouse Blues"), his tone sounds a bit more personal than earlier (moving a little away from Getz) and he was very clearly inspired during the project. Trombonist John Allred is an exuberant asset whenever he appears, guitarist Joe Cohn has yet to take a tasteless or unworthy solo, and the team of bassist Joel Forbes and drummer Chuck Riggs keep the music swinging and moving. The ten songs were all written by Englishmen or English-born songwriters. More importantly, all are worth hearing again in this setting. Highly recommended.
by Scott Yanow

Return to “Mainstream Jazz, Cool (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”