FileCat premium

LUME - Xabregas 10 (2016) [Modern Big Band / Avant-Garde Jazz]; FLAC (tracks)

Chamber Jazz, Improvised Music, Avant-Garde Crossover
User avatar
Posts: 65682
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

LUME - Xabregas 10 (2016) [Modern Big Band / Avant-Garde Jazz]; FLAC (tracks)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 17 Jun 2022, 20:18

Artist: LUME
Album: Xabregas 10
Genre: Modern Big Band / Avant-Garde Jazz
Label: Clean Feed
Released: 2016
Quality: FLAC (tracks)
  1. Astromassa (10:04)
  2. Sandblast (10:33)
  3. Polén (14:00)
  4. LSW (10:19)


  • Marco Barroso - direction and piano
  • Manuel Luís Cochofel - flute
  • Paulo Gaspar - clarinet
  • Jorge Reis - soprano sax
  • João Pedro Silva - alto sax
  • Ricardo Toscano - alto sax (#1)
  • José Menezes - tenor sax
  • Elmano Coelho - baritone sax
  • Sérgio Charrinho - trumpet
  • Pedro Monteiro - trumpet (#3)
  • Gonçalo Marques - trumpet
  • Luís Cunha - trombone (#2)
  • Eduardo Lála - trombone
  • Mário Vicente - trombone
  • Miguel Amado - electric bass
  • André Sousa Machado - drums

L.U.M.E. – Lisbon Underground Music Ensemble
A live recording of the concert presented by the very peculiar big band LUME (acronym of Lisbon Underground Music Ensemble) in the 2014 edition of the festival Jazz em Agosto, “Xabregas 10” documents a particularly successful gig with the participation of the recently deceased saxophonist Jorge Reis, to whom the CD is dedicated. And peculiar because, being a jazz orchestra, its leader and composer Marco Barroso comes from contemporary classical music and has a strong devotion for rock and funk, two factors immediately recognized in the groovy and heavy, but very complex, pieces here assembled – beginning immediately with “Astromassa”, a metal-like composition in which the 12 blowing instruments (four saxophones, a clarinet, a flute, three trumpets, three trombones) can be more powerful than a couple of over-amplified and distorted electric guitars. This same piece includes an alto sax solo by Ricardo Toscano, a young wonder player who recorded it in the post-production process: he was invited for the project after Reis death, and his inclusion here is somewhat symbolical. LUME has a post-modernist attitude, mixing elements from distinct origins in an unprejudiced way and doing it with a statement («we’re here and we’re not going anywhere; deal with us»), not very common before in the Portuguese jazz scene. And if the collective behaves with that mood, very affirmatively, it also defines the solos by Eduardo Lála (trombone), José Menezes (tenor saxophone) and Gonçalo Marques (trumpet). In one word: stratospheric.

Return to “Modern Creative, Third Stream (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”