FileCat premium

Eberson - Between Two Worlds (2021) [Fusion, Jazz-Rock]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Jazz-Rock, Jazz-Funk, Jazzy Blues
User avatar
Posts: 72547
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Eberson - Between Two Worlds (2021) [Fusion, Jazz-Rock]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 08 Dec 2022, 15:25

Artist: Eberson
Album: Between Two Worlds
Genre: Fusion, Jazz-Rock
Label: Jazzland Recordings
Released: 2021
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. Dream Walking (8:05)
  2. Strange Highway (5:22)
  3. Reverie (4:45)
  4. Dancing With The Big Fish (5:18)
  5. Between Two Worlds (6:52)
  6. The Butterfly's Dream (6:13)
  7. The Wounded Wolf (5:38)
  8. Untitled (4:12)


  • Jon Eberson - guitar
  • Marte Eberson - keyboards
  • Jo Berger Myhre - bass
  • Axel Skalstad - drums
  • Rune Arnesen - percussion

"Between Two Worlds" from Jon and Marte Eberson is the sequel to their previous album "Empathy". It is three years since that album's release, one that attracted a lot of positive attention, both critically and from a large audience. The expectations for the new album are high.

Two singles have been released thus far, garnering great reviews. Arild Rønsen in Puls writes, among other things: “Strange Highway is composed by father and daughter. Full throttle! Marte plays as if she were Joe Zawinul, Keith Jarret and Chick Corea - in one and the same musician! And Jon as a mix of Billy Gibbons, Jimmy Page and John McLaughlin!” Jazznytt writes about what they call "Eberson's terrific new single "Strange Highway" and believes that: "Eberson obviously has enough petrol in the tank, with a good energy supply from Marte Eberson who now no longer has to miss the old band Highasakite - she does more than enough exciting things on her own." The reviewer in Nordic Music Review mentions all-round musicians who are equally comfortable in different musical styles, and believes that Marte is without a doubt a "Nordic Queen" of the genre. He goes on to write about the single Wounded Wolf: “What I really like is the uniqueness of Eberson's soundscape; you do not hear much of this nowadays. What is it, jazz language? A new genre in itself - Jazzerson?”

It was the pandemic that gave impetus to the recording. When Norway was shut down, most of the artistic and cultural activity also stopped. Marte was one of those affected by the gloomy situation. Instead of sitting twiddling their thumbs, Jon suggested that he and Marte go into the studio and make new music. It was a redemptive creative journey! Here they developed the themes of Empathy, with greater emphasis on the instrumental. In addition to the duo, Aksel Skalstad is on drums, Jo Berger Myhre is on bass and Rune Arnesen is on percussion.

The result is "Between Two Worlds", a musical soundscape where the raw meets the vulnerable, the dreamy meets the dynamic. Overall, they draw influence from very many genres in jazz, pop and rock. Jon has played everything from standard songs, through free jazz, to rock. He has led such diverse bands as the Jazzpunk Ensemble, and the legendary Jon Eberson Group, where he and Sidsel Endresen topped the Norwegian charts. Marte also brings experience from different genres. She has traveled the world as a member of the pop band Highasakite. In recent years, she has ably demonstrated that she stands on her own two feet. She has the band Löv, with Øystein Skar and Martin Halla. She has played duo concerts during Molde jazz and at this year's Øya festival with Ane Brun. In recent years, she has played a lot with guitarist Hedvig Mollestad, including in the work "Ekhidna", which received the Spellemann Prize this year. Now she makes her mark in the collaboration with her father. The album's title, "Between Two Worlds", reflects thoughts and associations that are about to dive below the surface; inspired by everything from concrete dreams to how the subconscious works. Are you dreaming or are you awake? Did I really see it, or was it just in my imagination? Titles from the album, such as "Dreamwalking", "Reverie" and "Dancing With The Big Fish" are examples of this. The latter is inspired by filmmaker David Lynch's book "Catching the Big Fish", a book about transcendental meditation and creativity - and the interplay between these.

Return to “Jazz Fusion (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”