FileCat premium

Helge Iberg - Songs from the Planet of Life (2019) [Modern Creative, Contemporary Classical]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Chamber Jazz, Improvised Music, Avant-Garde Crossover
User avatar
Posts: 72383
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Helge Iberg - Songs from the Planet of Life (2019) [Modern Creative, Contemporary Classical]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 28 Dec 2022, 12:31

Artist: Helge Iberg
Album: Songs from the Planet of Life
Genre: Modern Creative, Contemporary Classical
Label: Aurora
Released: 2019
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. Prelude (1:44)
  2. Tale of Sorrowful Song (Part 1) (8:49)
  3. Tale of Sorrowful Song (Part 2) (6:03)
  4. Parade (1:37)
  5. The Great Banquet (8:23)
  6. Lotus Dance (7:44)
  7. Long Autumn Night (8:13)
  8. If Life Were Just a Dream (11:01)
  9. Adieux (6:21)


  • Elise Batnes - violin
  • Christian Ihle Hadland - piano
  • Marianne Beate Kielland - mezzo soprano
  • Frank Havroy - baritone
  • Tom Ottar Andreassen - alto flute
  • Liu Tiegang, Sidsel Endresen - recitation
  • Norwegian Radio Orchestra
  • Kai Grinde Myrann - conductor

In 'Songs from the Planet of Life,' composer Helge Iberg uses poems of the taoist tradition to shed light on the ecological situation. An impressive handful of soloists come together with The Norwegian Radio Orchestra for this touching musical reflection on the present state of the planet and humankind. Norway's biggest newspaper Aftenposten, describes the work as "Heavenly! Iberg's concept gave us a night we will never forget!" An all-night Concerto Grosso for five soloists, narrator and symphony orchestra; extensive, grand-scale and correspondingly powerful a new Das Lied von der Erde inspired by Gustav Mahler's iconic art piece. The piece consists of 9 movements. Vocal artist Sidsel Endresen narrates the poems together with LiuTiegang, actor and leader of The National Theater of China in Beijing. Elise Batnes's interpretation of Tale of Sorrowful Song is outstanding. Christian Ihle Hadland's piano-playing is equally poignant in Lotus Dance, while Marianne Beate Kielland and Frank Havroy spellbind us in Long Autumn Night contrasted by Tom Ottar Andreassen's alto flute, all safely guided by conductor Kai Grinde Myrann.

Return to “Modern Creative, Third Stream (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”