FileCat premium

Bill Evans - You Must Believe in Spring (2022) [Post-Bop, Cool]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

West Coast Jazz, Soul-Jazz, Standards
User avatar
Posts: 72532
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Bill Evans - You Must Believe in Spring (2022) [Post-Bop, Cool]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 21 Dec 2023, 19:27

Artist: Bill Evans
Album: You Must Believe in Spring
Genre: Post-Bop, Cool
Label: Craft Recordings
Released: 1981/2022
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. B Minor Waltz (For Ellaine) (Evans) - 3:18
  2. You Must Believe in Spring (Legrand-Demy-Bergman-Bergman) - 5:45
  3. Gary's Theme (McFarland) - 4:21
  4. We Will Meet Again (For Harry) (Evans) - 4:05
  5. The Peacocks (Rowles) - 6:02
  6. Sometime Ago (Mihanovich) - 4:38
  7. Theme from M.A.S.H. (aka Suicide Is Painless) (Mandel) - 5:59
  8. Without a Song (Eliscu-Rose-Youmans) - 8:10
  9. Freddie Freeloader (Davis) - 7:40
  10. All of You (Porter) - 8:12


  • Bill Evans - piano, electric piano (#9)
  • Eddie Gomez - double bass
  • Eliot Zigmund - drums

Bill Evans (1929-1980), one of the most influential artists in the history of jazz, was known for his dialogic interplay in his trios, his lyrical compositions and his incomparable handling of the piano. His work with Gomez and Zigmund on "You Must Believe in Spring" is a brilliant example of all three aspects. When they recorded the album in August 1977, this particular formation of the Bill Evans Trio had reached its zenith after three busy years of live performances and studio recordings (including the 1977 albums Crosscurrents and I Will Say Goodbye). Speaking to Marc Myers, Zigmund recalls, "We had reached a high level of conversational ability. By spring, we had captured that ease with which we could interact with each other."

For the three-day recording session at Hollywood's famed Capitol Studios, Evans worked with legendary producer Tommy LiPuma, whose extensive credits include Barbra Streisand, George Benson and Natalie Cole. Together, they selected an introspective collection of material that gave the album a "gentle, melancholy mood and a jukebox tenderness", as Marc Myers notes Among them were two very personal Evans originals: "B Minor Waltz (for Ellaine)", composed in memory of the pianist's late partner, Ellaine Shultz, and "We Will Meet Again (for Harry)", written for the artist's late brother. Two years later, Evans revisited the latter composition and made it the title track of his final studio recording.

The other tracks offered Evans the space to interpret a wide range of material - from lesser-known gems like "Gary's Theme", a 1968 composition by vibraphonist Gary McFarland, to such popular fare as Sergio Mihanovich's "Sometime Ago" At LiPuma's suggestion, Evans also delivered an inspired interpretation of "Theme From M*A*S*H (Suicide Is Painless)", the highly recognisable instrumental opener from the popular television series. The title track, on the other hand, was a standard of the era, written by the prolific French film composer Michel Legrand for the 1967 film The Young Girls of Rochefort.

Return to “Mainstream Jazz, Cool (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”