FileCat premium

The Howard Alden Trio - A Good Likeness (1993) [Mainstream Jazz]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

West Coast Jazz, Soul-Jazz, Standards
User avatar
Posts: 72860
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

The Howard Alden Trio - A Good Likeness (1993) [Mainstream Jazz]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 23 Mar 2024, 09:54

Artist: The Howard Alden Trio
Album: A Good Likeness
Genre: Mainstream Jazz
Label: Concord Jazz
Released: 1993
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. Nobody Else But Me (Kern-Hammerstein) - 6:41
  2. The Peacocks (Rowles) - 5:23
  3. Something to Live For (Strayhorn-Ellington) - 6:31
  4. Single Petal of a Rose (Ellington) - 2:39
  5. Lotus Blossom (Strayhorn) - 5:23
  6. The Eel's Nephew (Freeman) - 5:18
  7. Turn Out the Stars (Evans) - 4:38
  8. No More (Camarata-Russell) - 4:35
  9. Just as Though You Were Here (Brooks-Delange) - 6:16
  10. Crepuscule with Nellie (Monk) - 2:24
  11. Echo of Spring (Smith-Williams) - 3:33


  • Howard Alden - guitar
  • Michael Moore - bass
  • Alan Dawson - drums

Howard Alden is heard in prime form throughout this superior trio set, which matches his guitar with bassist Michael Moore and drummer Alan Dawson. Although thought of as a swing player, and there are versions of Bud Freeman's "The Eel's Nephew" and Willie "The Lion" Smith's "Echo of Spring" on this CD, a lot of the music is much more modern. Alden, a versatile and always-stimulating player, uplifts such tunes as Jimmy Rowles' "The Peacocks," Duke Ellington's "Single Petal of a Rose," "Turn out the Stars," and Thelonious Monk's "Crepuscule With Nellie."
Review by Scott Yanow

Return to “Mainstream Jazz, Cool (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”