Tower Of Power - Monster On A Leash (1991) [Jazz / Funk / Soul]; APE (image+.cue)

Funk, Soul, R&B
User avatar
Posts: 49570
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Tower Of Power - Monster On A Leash (1991) [Jazz / Funk / Soul]; APE (image+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 10 Feb 2016, 10:08

Artist: Tower Of Power
Album: Monster On A Leash
Genre: Jazz / Funk / Soul
Label: Epic Records
Released: 1991
Quality: APE (image+.cue)
  1. A Little Knowledge (Is A Dangerous Thing) (4:25)
  2. How Could This Happen To Me (4:10)
  3. Who Do You Think You Are (4:22)
  4. Attitude Dance (5:36)
  5. You Can't Fall Up (You Just Fall Down) (4:55)
  6. Funk The Dumb Stuff (5:27)
  7. Believe It (4:35)
  8. Personal Possessions (5:07)
  9. Miss Trouble (Got A Lot Of Nerve) (4:45)
  10. Keep Your Monster On A Leash (4:33)
  11. Someone New (4:28)
  12. Mr. Toad's Wild Ride (5:26)


In contrast to the many soul veterans who who have turned to urban contemporary sounds in the hope of staying on the staying on the charts, Tower of Power has stuck with the type of horn-driven, live-sounding funk and soul that put the Bay Area band on the map. Tower was long past its prime by the time Monster on a Leash was released in 1991, and had experienced its share of personnel changes. Lead singer Tom Bowes, although a passionate and competent belter, is hardly on a par with Lenny Williams. Even so, this is a respectable and decent effort from a band that remained artistically viable by staying true to itself. Unapologetically '70s-sounding, the album falls short of the unmitigated excellence of Back to Oakland and Urban Renewal, but isn't significantly different in its approach, content or attitude. While novices would do better to start with either those gems, this is an album that diehard Tower enthusiasts shouldn't pass up.

Return to “Funk, Soul, R&B (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”