Johnny Smith Trio - Designed For You (1959/2017) [Bop, Cool, Guitar Jazz]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

West Coast Jazz, Soul-Jazz, Standards
User avatar
Posts: 48216
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Johnny Smith Trio - Designed For You (1959/2017) [Bop, Cool, Guitar Jazz]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 11 May 2017, 07:12

Artist: Johnny Smith Trio
Album: Designed For You
Genre: Bop, Cool, Guitar Jazz
Label: Roost/Parlophone/Warner Music Japan
Released: 1959/2017
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. Fools Rush In (2:40)
  2. I'll Remember Clifford (4:09)
  3. The Lady Is A Tramp (2:49)
  4. There Will Never Be Another You (3:11)
  5. Autumn Leaves (4:07)
  6. Mood Indigo (2:54)
  7. Sentimental Journey (3:22)
  8. Three Little Words (2:19)
  9. My Romance (2:31)
  10. Sometimes I'm Happy (3:46)
  11. I'll Take Romance (3:04)


  • Johnny Smith - guitar
  • George Roumanis - bass
  • Mousey Alexander - drums

Reissue with SHM-CD format and new 24bit remastering. Johnny Smith really helped bring the sound of jazz guitar to a huge audience in the 50s – and an album like this is a perfect demonstration of his subtle genius on the instrument! At a time when so many others were working the guitar with a hard-edged sound, Smith moves into territory that's even more careful and precise – really making the most of the amplification on the strings, so that his touch can be gentle, but very pointed – allowing for lots of space between the notes, in a way that makes each of them mean even more than they might if strung together in a flurry. The group's a trio – with the bass and drums really giving Johnny a lot of room.

Return to “Mainstream Jazz, Cool (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”