Julian Lage & Chris Eldridge - Mount Royal (2017) [Contemporary Jazz]; FLAC (tracks)

Hard Bop, Post-Bop, Neo-Bop
User avatar
Posts: 49570
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Julian Lage & Chris Eldridge - Mount Royal (2017) [Contemporary Jazz]; FLAC (tracks)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 10 Oct 2017, 15:54

Artist: Julian Lage & Chris Eldridge
Album: Mount Royal
Genre: Contemporary Jazz
Label: Free Dirt
Released: 2017
Quality: FLAC (tracks)
  1. Bone Collector
  2. Rygar
  3. Everything Must Go
  4. Things in Life
  5. Old Grimes
  6. Henry
  7. Sleeping By Myself
  8. Broadcast
  9. Goldacre
  10. Lion's Share
  11. Life in the Mississippi Valley
  12. Greener Grass


  • Julian Lage - guitar
  • Chris Eldridge - guitar

Mount Royal, the second full-length album from virtuosic guitar duo Julian Lage & Chris Eldridge, is a testament to the visceral power of incredible musicianship and true creative collaboration. Produced by Gabe Witcher (one of Eldridge’s fellow Punch Brothers), Mount Royal includes eight originals, several reimagined versions of old bluegrass songs, and a cover of Eddie Vedder’s “Sleeping By Myself” that is as engrossing as it is surprising. The arrangements on the album’s twelve, mostly instrumental tracks feature complex, rollicking guitar lines one would expect from such technically gifted players, but these moments are allowed to breathe. That is, Lage and Eldridge understand the potency of space in their compositions, and the sonic hills and valleys illustrate that greatness often lies in the unexpected. Lage’s notable jazz background is apparent, yet Mount Royal ventures into old-time, gospel and bluegrass without ever settling into one genre. The energy between Lage and Eldridge is remarkable, and Mount Royal does not fail in conveying the pair’s mutual passion for the acoustic guitar and respect for collaboration.

Return to “Bop (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”