Peter Weniger - Point of Departure (2016) [Post-Bop, Contemporary Jazz]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Hard Bop, Post-Bop, Neo-Bop
User avatar
Posts: 32715
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Peter Weniger - Point of Departure (2016) [Post-Bop, Contemporary Jazz]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 26 Jan 2018, 16:02

Artist: Peter Weniger
Album: Point of Departure
Genre: Post-Bop, Contemporary Jazz
Label: Skip Records
Released: 2016
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. Point of Departure - 5:25
  2. Kinch - 5:46
  3. I Can See You from Here - 5:35
  4. Jack in the Back - 17:20
  5. Momentum - 5:07
  6. Rainbow's End - 6:43
  7. Judge - 3:56
  8. Things We Talked About - 5:30
  9. Red Snapper's Tale - 5:18
  10. House on the Hill - 4:26

Download from

  • Peter Weniger - tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone
  • Don Grusin - keyboards
  • Hanno Busch - guitar
  • Claus Fischer - bass
  • David Haynes - drums

When you’re one of the most acclaimed and sought-after saxophone players in Germany, it’s hardly surprising when people ask: Hey, when’s the next CD coming out? The fact is, Peter Weniger appears more or less constantly as guest soloist on top-flight productions and is equally active as artistic director at the Jazz Institute in Berlin. Which goes a long way toward explaining why the last time he recorded an album under his own name was 8 years ago (SKP 9082 “Sing Yourself A Dream”). And makes the new LP, “Point Of Departure” (SKP 9130), all the more remarkable: brilliant musicians, an earthy groove, rapturous improvisations, a magical moment in the discography of this artist who makes his home in Berlin. Together with US icon Don Grusin on keyboards, guitarist Hanno Busch (Heavytones, Michael Wollny et al), and the rhythm machine loaded with Claus Fischer (Heavytones, Larry Carlton) on bass and David Haynes on drums (think back to the Till Brönner tour in 2015!), he locked himself up in a studio in the midst of the rugged wilds of Ireland. What has emerged might well be the boldest, the most disclosing album in his career.

Don Grusin offers the following recap of the recording work: “We found we could all play together with our eyes closed...except for those hilarious moments when we’d break up and look...” Electronic, taut, distinctly marked by major ’70s bands like Weather Report, Herbie Hancock’s Headhunters or Miles Davis during his early ‘eclectic-electric’ phase, the quintet lets one of the heydays of Fusion Jazz flash on “Point Of Departure”, only to effervesce a moment later on “Kinch” via grooves styled on Pee Wee Ellis. The probing ballad “I Can See You From Here” demonstrates one of Peter Weniger’s other strengths. As is the case with “Jack In The Back”, a central track over 17 minutes long, the listener continuously gains the impression of taking part in an improvised process of creation whose outcome remains open. Speaking of which, besides the premiered album, “Point Of Departure”, there is also an audio documentation of the sessions containing an almost hour-long collective improvisation entitled “Now!” that captures the spirit of the recordings. “Now!” will be available to fans as a download and as an extra CD at concerts.

Return to “Bop (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”