Ruby Braff - The Concord Jazz Heritage Series (1998) [New Orleans Jazz]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Ragtime, Dixieland, Big Band, New Orleans Jazz, Jump Blues, Neo-Swing
User avatar
Posts: 35837
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Ruby Braff - The Concord Jazz Heritage Series (1998) [New Orleans Jazz]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 09 Feb 2018, 13:07

Artist: Ruby Braff
Album: The Concord Jazz Heritage Series
Genre: New Orleans Jazz
Label: Concord Jazz
Released: 1998
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. A Sailboat in the Moonlight - 5:35
  2. Here's Carl - 3:39
  3. There's a Small Hotel - 4:21
  4. You're a Lucky Guy - 4:08
  5. Yesterdays - 7:26
  6. Shoe Shine Boy - 6:21
  7. Cabin in the Sky - 3:28
  8. This Nearly Was Mine - 5:21
  9. I Got Rhythm - 4:49
  10. Blue and Sentimental - 5:59
  11. Dinah - 4:32
  12. I've Grown Accustomed to Her Face - 4:00

Download from

  • Ruby Braff - cornet
  • Howard Alden - guitar
  • Scott Hamilton - tenor saxophone
  • Dick Hyman, Dave McKenna - piano
  • Ken Peplowski - clarinet

Cornetist Ruby Braff recorded so many rewarding albums for Concord that it must have been quite difficult to put this single-disc 1998 sampler together. Braff is heard in his popular quartet with guitarist George Barnes, in duets with pianists Dick Hyman and Roger Kellaway and interacting with such players as tenor saxophonist Scott Hamilton, guitarist Howard Alden, clarinetist Ken Peplowski, and pianist Dave McKenna, among others. Most of the dozen selections are hot swing standards (including "A Sailboat In the Moonlight," "Shoe Shine Boy" and "Dinah"), along with a few slightly later show tunes and Braff's original "Here's Carl." An excellent buy for mainstream jazz fans with a limited budget, although all of Ruby Braff's numerous Concord sets are well worth acquiring.
Review by Scott Yanow

Return to “Early Jazz, Swing, Gypsy (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”