John White - John White (1971/2017) [Jazz-Funk, Fusion]; FLAC (tracks)

Jazz-Rock, Jazz-Funk, Jazzy Blues
User avatar
Posts: 40357
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

John White - John White (1971/2017) [Jazz-Funk, Fusion]; FLAC (tracks)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 05 Mar 2018, 17:00

Artist: John White
Album: John White
Genre: Jazz-Funk, Fusion
Label: Time/Mainstream Records/Solid Records Japan
Released: 1971/2017
Quality: FLAC (tracks)
  1. Right Off (6:45)
  2. Number 3 (3:28)
  3. Granite And Concrete (7:44)
  4. City (3:02)
  5. Help Us Out (7:38)
  6. Tried To Touch (7:01)


  • John White - g
  • Merl Saunders - el-p, org
  • Dale Smith, Terry Hensley - b
  • Philip Wilson - d
  • J. Burr - cga
  • John Wilmath - tp
  • Jock Williams - tb
  • Sonny Red - as
  • Hadley Caliman - ts
  • Robert Williams - vo

A bit funky, a bit bluesy – and one of the only 70s albums we've ever seen from guitarist John White – a player with a feel that's a bit more laidback and loose than some of his contemporaries on the Mainstream label! The style here is somewhere between work by David T Walker and Freddie Robinson – some of the rougher edges of the latter, but more of the focus of the former – set up nicely in some west coast backings that feature work from Merl Saunders on organ, Hadley Caliman on tenor, Sonny Red on alto, and Phil Wilson on drums. There's an edge to some of the best tracks here that you wouldn't expect – especially in comparison to other Mainstream Records sessions – and titles include "Granite and Concrete", "Help Us Out", "Right Off", "City", "Tried To Touch", and "Number 3."

Return to “Jazz Fusion (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”