Erlend Apneseth Trio - Åra (2017) [Modern Creative, Free Improvisation]; FLAC (tracks)

Chamber Jazz, Improvised Music, Avant-Garde Crossover
User avatar
Posts: 38892
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Erlend Apneseth Trio - Åra (2017) [Modern Creative, Free Improvisation]; FLAC (tracks)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 11 Jul 2018, 13:46

Artist: Erlend Apneseth Trio
Album: Åra
Genre: Modern Creative, Free Improvisation
Label: Hubro
Released: 2017
Quality: FLAC (tracks)
  1. Utferd (05:08)
  2. Tundra (04:06)
  3. Øyster (03:24)
  4. Stryk (04:34)
  5. Undergrunn (04:39)
  6. Bølgebrytar (02:33)
  7. Saga (03:33)
  8. Lysne (03:36)
  9. Sakura (04:30)
  10. Klokkespel (01:49)


  • Stephan Meidell - Baritone Acoustic Guitar, Live Sampling, Electronics
  • Øyvind Hegg-Lunde - Drums, Percussion
  • Erlend Apneseth - Hardanger Fiddle

From sun-dappled utopianism to the bleakest noir netherworld. On the astonishingly vivid ‘Utferd’, Åra’s opening track, the sound begins as an inchoate, unformed thing, like an orchestra tuning up, before the musicians gradually find their level. A series of repetitive plucks and glissandos leads into an almost trip-hoppy rhythm over-ridden by the drones and keening wails of the leader’s Hardanger fiddle until they reach a climax then slowly retreat back again into pure sound, trailing wisps of the dying melody as they go. It’s quite a performance, and a fitting statement of intent for what is the band’s second album. Their debut, ‘Der Andre Rommet’, created a suitable splash, being nominated for Spellemannsprisen, the Norwegian equivalent to the Grammy, and receiving a Norwegian Folk Award in the ‘Open’ category.

Return to “Modern Creative, Third Stream (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”