Johnny Frigo - Summer Me! Live at Battle Ground (2008) [Swing]; FLAC (image+.cue)

Ragtime, Dixieland, Big Band, New Orleans Jazz, Jump Blues, Neo-Swing
User avatar
Posts: 48216
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Johnny Frigo - Summer Me! Live at Battle Ground (2008) [Swing]; FLAC (image+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 06 Jan 2019, 13:25

Artist: Johnny Frigo
Album: Summer Me! Live at Battle Ground
Genre: Swing
Label: Log Cabin Records
Released: 2008
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue)
  1. Quando Quando Quando - 4:26
  2. The Song Is You - 5:15
  3. Polka Dots And Moonbeams - 4:25
  4. Czardas - 4:19
  5. Pennies From Heaven - 4:12
  6. Nuages - - 5:45
  7. Summer Me, Winter Me - 4:43
  8. Medley: America The Beautiful / Strike Up The Band - 4:34
  9. Summertime - 4:40
  10. Pick Yourself Up - 5:28
  11. Here's That Rainy Day - 6:46
  12. I'll Remember April - 7:05
  13. Get Happy - 3:36
  14. In A Sentimental Mood - 5:26
  15. (Back Home In) Indiana - 3:18
  16. Estrellita (unlisted hidden track) - 3:20


  • Johnny Frigo - violin
  • Don Stiernberg - mandolin
  • John Parrott - guitar
  • Greg Cahill - banjo
  • Jim Cox - double bass

With a career dating back to Prohibition-era Chicago, jazz violinist Johnny Frigo (1916-2007) enjoyed a late-career renaissance including appearances at leading American and European jazz festivals and guest shots on The Tonight Show with Johnny Carson. He especially loved the informality and relaxing ambience of the Indiana Fiddlers’ Gathering, an outdoor old-time music festival held in Battle Ground the last weekend in June. This collection gathers the cream from Frigo’s five Fiddlers’ Gathering appearances, backed by jazz mandolin master Don Stiernberg, Special Consensus banjo picker Greg Cahill, guitarist John Parrott and bassist Jim Cox.

Rare all-acoustic performances from Chicago’s jazz violin legend. More than 70 minutes of previously unreleased concert recordings. Supported by such top-flight string jazz and bluegrass musicians as Don Stiernberg on mandolin and Greg Cahill on banjo. Features many standards never recorded on Frigo’s Mercury, Concord Jazz, Chesky and Arbors Jazz releases. A ‘must-have’ for all fans of string swing and gypsy jazz!

Summer Me! Johnny Frigo Live at Battle Ground is a 2008 compilation of Indiana Fiddlers' Gathering performances by jazz violinist Johnny Frigo recorded between 1994 and 1997. A hidden track, an unaccompanied violin solo of Estrellita dating from June 30, 1985, closes the album.

Return to “Early Jazz, Swing, Gypsy (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”