One for All - Killer Joe (2005) [Post-Bop, Straight-Ahead Jazz]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Hard Bop, Post-Bop, Neo-Bop
User avatar
Posts: 48537
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

One for All - Killer Joe (2005) [Post-Bop, Straight-Ahead Jazz]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 29 May 2019, 13:16

Artist: One for All
Album: Killer Joe
Genre: Post-Bop, Straight-Ahead Jazz
Label: Venus Records
Released: 2005
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. Killer Joe (Golson) - 6:18
  2. Island (Alexander) - 6:48
  3. Night Mist Blues (Jamal) - 11:06
  4. Mating Call (Dameron) - 6:53
  5. Hot Sake (Davis) - 10:33
  6. Say When (Johnson) - 6:24
  7. I Remember Clifford (Golson) - 7:07
  8. You Know I Care (Pearson) - 6:26


  • Eric Alexander - tenor saxophone
  • Jim Rotondi - trumpet
  • Steve Davis - trombone
  • David Hazeltine - piano
  • David Williams - bass
  • Joe Farnsworth - drums

One for All has developed into one of the solid hard bop units, consisting of six talented New York-based musicians, most of whom have recorded a fair amount as individual leaders. With tenor saxophonist Eric Alexander, trombonist Steve Davis, and trumpeter Jim Rotundi in the front line, along with pianist David Hazeltine, bassist David Williams, and drummer Joe Farnsworth providing a great rhythm section, the sextet delves into decades-old gems like "Killer Joe," "Mating Call," and "I Remember Clifford" with authority. But such a band needs to come up with original material to stay fresh, so Alexander contributed the mellow, sauntering ballad "Island," which features superb interplay among the horns. Davis penned the driving"Hot Sake," which sounds like it would have been perfect fodder for Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers, or any hard bop band. Recommended.
Review by Ken Dryden

Return to “Bop (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”