Lew Soloff - With a Song in My Heart (1998) [Hard Bop, Post-Bop]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Hard Bop, Post-Bop, Neo-Bop
User avatar
Posts: 48216
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Lew Soloff - With a Song in My Heart (1998) [Hard Bop, Post-Bop]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 25 Aug 2019, 13:19

Artist: Lew Soloff
Album: With a Song in My Heart
Genre: Hard Bop, Post-Bop
Label: Milestone
Released: 1998
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. Come Rain or Come Shine (Arlen-Mercer) - 7:56
  2. Andantino from Tchaikovsky Symphony No.4 (2nd Movement) - 6:54
  3. The Way You Look Tonight (Fields-Kern) - 4:53
  4. I'm a Fool to Want You (Herron-Sinatra-Wolf) - 6:05
  5. Mea Culpa (Giraud) - 8:33
  6. Deguello (Tiomkin) - 7:45
  7. Istanbul (Soloff) - 9:06
  8. One for Emily (Soloff) - 7:18
  9. With a Song in My Heart (Hart-Rodgers) - 9:47


  • Lew Soloff - trumpet
  • Mulgrew Miller - piano
  • George Mraz - bass
  • Victor Lewis - drums
  • Emily Mitchell - harp (#2,6)

Trumpeter Lew Soloff is well-known for his virtuosity, versatility and shouting solos. This CD is very much a departure for most of the selections are taken at ballad tempoes, and Soloff is very restrained, usually playing with a Harmon mute in his horn. He is assisted by pianist Mulgrew Miller, bassist George Mraz, drummer Victor Lewis and (on two numbers) his wife, Emily Mitchell, on harp. Soloff performs four standards (the title cut is the only one taken at an "up" pace and even here he is muted), two standards (the exotic "Istanbul" is most memorable), a melody from a Tchaikovsky symphony and two obscurities. Once one is used to the slower pace (and puts their preconceptions away), the beauty of this set is apparent. A heartbreaking rendition of "I'm a Fool to Want You" is a highlight.
Review by Scott Yanow

Return to “Bop (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”