Art Farmer Quartet - Art and Perception (2012) [Bop, Cool]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

West Coast Jazz, Soul-Jazz, Standards
User avatar
Posts: 53889
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Art Farmer Quartet - Art and Perception (2012) [Bop, Cool]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 28 Nov 2019, 14:22

Artist: Art Farmer Quartet
Album: Art and Perception
Genre: Bop, Cool
Label: Poll Winners
Released: 2012
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
    Art (1960)
  1. So Beats My Heart for You (Ballard-Henderson-Waring) - 4:44
  2. Goodbye, Old Girl (Adler-Ross) - 4:34
  3. Who Cares (Gershwin-Gershwin) - 5:29
  4. Out of the Past (Golson) - 5:20
  5. Younger Than Springtime (Rodgers-Hammerstein) - 5:42
  6. The Best Thing for You Is Me (Berlin) - 4:17
  7. I'm a Fool to Want You (Sinatra-Herron-Wolf) - 5:33
  8. That Old Devil Called Love (Roberts-Fisher) - 4:18

    Perception (1961)
  9. Punsu (Farmer) - 5:12
  10. The Day After (McIntosh) - 2:26
  11. Lullaby of the Leaves (Petkere-Young) - 4:18
  12. Kayin' (Farmer) - 3:57
  13. Tonk (Bryant) - 4:37
  14. Blue Room (Rodgers-Hart) - 3:59
  15. Change Partners (Berlin) - 5:23
  16. Nobody's Heart (Rodgers-Hart) - 4:05


This Gambit disc compiles two separate sessions (Art and Perception) led by Art Farmer, made separately from the Jazztet (which he co-led with Benny Golson). The 1960 recordings featured on the first album featured Tommy Flanagan, Tommy Williams and Albert "Tootie" Heath with the trumpeter, playing show tunes and chestnuts in an elegant fashion that has stood the test of time. On the latter LP recorded the following year, Harold Mabern replaces Flanagan and Roy McCurdy takes over for Heath, with Farmer switching to the richer-toned flugelhorn. In addition to standards, the quartet explores two fine if unjustly obscure originals by the leader, along with the mellow "The Day After" (penned by Jazztet sideman Tom McIntosh). After being out of print for decades, both albums were issued individually overseas, as well as being joined for Art & Perception and collected with recordings by the Jazztet and Benny Golson in a Mosaic limited-edition boxed set. No matter how it is acquired, both sessions are among Art Farmer's best work of the '60s.
Review by Ken Dryden

Return to “Mainstream Jazz, Cool (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”