Thelonious Monk - Solo: 1954-1961 (2015) [Bop, Solo Piano]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Hard Bop, Post-Bop, Neo-Bop
User avatar
Posts: 49993
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Thelonious Monk - Solo: 1954-1961 (2015) [Bop, Solo Piano]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 12 Jan 2020, 16:40

Artist: Thelonious Monk
Album: Solo: 1954-1961
Genre: Bop, Solo Piano
Label: Le Chant du Monde
Released: 2015
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
    CD 1:
  1. 'Round Midnight
  2. Eronel
  3. Reflections (Portrait of an Ermite)
  4. Wee See (Manganese)
  5. Well, You Needn't
  6. Hackensack (Well, You Needn't) (Take 2)
  7. Evidence (Reflections)
  8. Smoke Gets in Your Eyes
  9. Off Minor
  10. Just a Gigolo
  11. Solitude
  12. Memories of You
  13. I Surrender, Dear
  14. (I Don't Stand) A Ghost of a Chance
  15. I Should Care
  16. 'Round Midnight
  17. Functional (Take 1 Alternate)
  18. April in Paris

    CD 2:
  1. All Alone
  2. I'm Getting Sentimental Over You
  3. Functional (Take 2 Official)
  4. There's Danger in Your Eyes, Cherie (Take 1 Alternate)
  5. Blue Monk
  6. Ruby, My Dear
  7. Round Lights
  8. Everything Happens to Me
  9. Pannonica
  10. There's Danger in Your Eyes, Cherie (Take 2 Official)
  11. You Took the Words Right out of My Heart
  12. Blue Hawk
  13. Remember
  14. Reflections
  15. Sweet Stranger (Bonus Live Track: 9 July 1958, Five Spot Cafe, New York)
  16. Just a Gigolo (Bonus Live Track: 7 August 1958, Five Spot Cafe, New York)
  17. Body & Soul (Bonus Live Track: 21 April 1961, Teatro Lirico, Milan)
  18. Just a Gigolo (Bonus Live Track)
  19. Body & Soul (Bonus Live Track: 16 May 1961, Konserthuset, Stockholm)


To many, Thelonious Sphere Monk is a piano genius of unique and exceptional talent. In terms of his rich harmonic inventiveness, his touch on the keys, the way he wove together a meticulous and forceful rhythmic framework with his left hand, his stylistic boldness, his sense for improvisation and his dense, bold sound, Monk is a unique and immediately recognisable pianist.

Unlike a number of his contemporaries, Monk recorded relatively infrequently. From 1947 (the date of his first session in his own name) to 1971 (the date of his last session), he released 25 original studio albums and made just four official solo recordings, of which three form the basis for this double album - The Prophet (Swing Records, 1954); Himself (Milestone Records, 1957); In San Francisco (Milestone Records, 1959). This collection thus brings together for the first time all the solo pieces recorded by Monk from 1954 to 1961 (Studio and Live) + a few rare tracks not featured on the original albums.

Return to “Bop (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”