Junior Wells' Chicago Blues Band & Buddy Guy - Hoodoo Man Blues (Deluxe Edition) (1965/2011) [Chicago Blues, Harmonica B

User avatar
Posts: 3856
Joined: 22 Feb 2020, 12:19

Junior Wells' Chicago Blues Band & Buddy Guy - Hoodoo Man Blues (Deluxe Edition) (1965/2011) [Chicago Blues, Harmonica B

Unread postby CountryBlues » 03 Mar 2020, 15:57

Artist: Junior Wells' Chicago Blues Band & Buddy Guy
Album: Hoodoo Man Blues (Deluxe Edition)
Genre: Chicago Blues, Harmonica Blues
Origin: USA
Released: 1965/2011
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps
  1. Snatch It Back and Hold It
  2. Ships on the Ocean
  3. Good Morning Schoolgirl
  4. Hound Dog
  5. In the Wee Wee Hours
  6. Hey Lawdy Mama
  7. Hoodoo Man Blues
  8. Early in the Morning
  9. We're Ready
  10. You Don't Love Me, Baby
  11. Chitlins Con carne
  12. Yonder Wall
  13. Studio Chatter 1
  14. I Ain't Stranded
  15. Studio Chatter 2
  16. In the Wee Wee Hours (Alternative)
  17. Studio Chatter 3
  18. Hoodoo Man Blues (Alternative)
  19. Studio Chatter 4
  20. Chitlins Con Carne (Alternative)
  21. Studio Chatter 5
  22. Yonder, Wall (Alternative Take 7)
  23. Studio Chatter 6
  24. Yonder Wall (Alternative Take 11)
  25. Studio Chatter 7
  26. Yonder Wall (Alternative Take 13)


Hoodoo Man Blues is one of the truly classic blues albums of the 1960s, and one of the first to fully document, in the superior acoustics of a recording studio, the smoky ambience of a night at a West Side nightspot. Junior Wells just set up with his usual cohorts guitarist Buddy Guy, bassist Jack Myers, and drummer Billy Warren and proceeded to blow up a storm, bringing an immediacy to "Snatch It Back and Hold It," "You Don't Love Me, Baby," "Chitlins con Carne," and the rest of the tracks that is absolutely mesmerizing. Widely regarded as one of Wells' finest achievements, it also became Delmark's best-selling release of all time. Producer Bob Koester vividly captures the type of grit that Wells brought to the stage. When Wells and his colleagues dig into "Good Morning, Schoolgirl," "Yonder Wall," or "We're Ready," they sound raw, gutsy, and uninhibited. And while Guy leaves the singing to Wells, he really shines on guitar. Guy, it should be noted, was listed as "Friendly Chap" on Delmark's original LP version of Hoodoo Man Blues; Delmark thought Guy was under contract to Chess, so they gave him a pseudonym. But by the early '70s, Guy's real name was being listed on pressings. This is essential listening for lovers of electric Chicago blues.

Return to “Blues (lossy - mp3)”