Joe Bonamassa - A New Day Yesterday (2000/2009) [Blues Rock]; mp3, 320 kbps

User avatar
Posts: 4131
Joined: 22 Feb 2020, 12:19

Joe Bonamassa - A New Day Yesterday (2000/2009) [Blues Rock]; mp3, 320 kbps

Unread postby CountryBlues » 09 Mar 2020, 16:31

Artist: Joe Bonamassa
Album: A New Day Yesterday
Genre: Blues Rock
Origin: USA
Released: 2000/2009
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps
  1. Cradle Rock
  2. Walk In My Shadow
  3. A New Day Yesterday
  4. I Know Where I Belong
  5. Miss You, Hate You
  6. Nuthin' I Wouldn't Do
  7. Colour and Shape
  8. Head Aches to Heart Breaks
  9. Trouble Waiting
  10. If Heartaches Were Nickels
  11. Current Situation
  12. Don't Burn Down That Bridge
  13. Miss You, Hate You (Original Full Length Version)


Named after the early Jethro Tull classic, which he expertly covers here in a jaw-dropping performance, A New Day Yesterday is a fine debut by guitar ace Joe Bonamassa. And though his record company tried to ride the coattails of teenage guitar prodigies like Kenny Wayne Shepard and Jonny Lang and position him (misguidedly and much too late) as a straight-up prodigal blues kid, Bonamassa is really much more than a traditional bluesman. Rather, as best exemplified by the Jethro Tull number cited above, his bluesy take on Free's "Walk in My Shadows," or his hard boogie romp through Al Kooper's "Nuthin' I Wouldn't Do (For a Woman Like You)," this excellent debut places the guitarist's influences as much in classic '70s hard rock as in the blues. Along with his deceptively age-wearied vocals (he was only 22 at the time of this recording), this unusual combination translates into the aggressive, soulful crunch heard on Bonamassa's many original compositions. Among these, the jolting double whammy of "Miss You, Hate You" and "Colour and the Shape" (note the Anglicized spelling) are the most obvious standouts, but the guitarist also makes the Warren Haynes-penned "If Heartaches Were Nickels" his own with a tense, riveting performance. All in all, a promising debut.

Return to “Blues (lossy - mp3)”