Registration on the site is temporarily disabled

John Zorn - Chimeras (2003) [Avant-Garde, Modern Classical]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Chamber Jazz, Improvised Music, Avant-Garde Crossover
User avatar
Posts: 50165
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

John Zorn - Chimeras (2003) [Avant-Garde, Modern Classical]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 29 Apr 2020, 15:42

Artist: John Zorn
Album: Chimeras
Genre: Avant-Garde, Modern Classical
Label: Tzadik
Released: 2003
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. One (0:55)
  2. Two (2:42)
  3. Three (2:55)
  4. Four (2:06)
  5. Five (1:45)
  6. Six (2:08)
  7. Seven (4:39)
  8. Eight (3:19)
  9. Nine (2:46)
  10. Ten (2:54)
  11. Interlude (1:24)
  12. Eleven (3:18)
  13. Twelve (2:51)


  • Jennifer Choi: Violin
  • Ilana Davidson: Voice
  • Stephen Drury: Piano, Organ, Celesta
  • Elizabeth Farnum: Voice
  • Michael Lowenstern: Bass Clarinet, Clarinet
  • Brad Lubman: Conductor
  • Tara O'Connor: Piccolo, Flute, Alto Flute, Bass Flute
  • Fred Sherry: Cello
  • William Winant: Percussion

Composed throughout 2001 and previewed at the prestigious venue BargeMusic, Chimeras is a major new chamber work by John Zorn. Loosely inspired by Schoenberg's masterwork Pierrot Lunaire, and scored for the same small ensemble (plus percussion), each of the twelve movements combine different permutations of the players, climaxing with a breathtaking tutti of all eight musicians. Dramatic and colorful, with a soprano vocal part that takes virtuosity to another level, Chimeras is a work of beauty, truth and imagination. Premiere recording by a hand-picked ensemble of the best musicians in contemporary music.

Return to “Modern Creative, Third Stream (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”