Gerry Mulligan - Jeru (1962/2014) [Cool Jazz]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

West Coast Jazz, Soul-Jazz, Standards
User avatar
Posts: 56492
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Gerry Mulligan - Jeru (1962/2014) [Cool Jazz]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 17 Jun 2020, 13:44

Artist: Gerry Mulligan
Album: Jeru
Genre: Cool Jazz
Label: Sony Music Entertainment
Released: 1962/2014
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. Capricious (Taylor) - 5:48
  2. Here I'll Stay (Lerner-Weill) - 5:01
  3. Inside Impromptu (Taylor) - 5:32
  4. You've Come Home (Leigh-Coleman) - 5:40
  5. Get Out of Town (Porter) - 4:12
  6. Blue Boy (Mulligan) - 4:39
  7. Lonely Town (Comden-Green-Bernstein) - 5:36


  • Gerry Mulligan - baritone saxophone
  • Tommy Flanagan - piano
  • Ben Tucker - bass
  • Dave Bailey - drums
  • Alec Dorsey - congas

While Gerry Mulligan was famous in the 1950s for leading pianoless quartets, he never had anything against pianists; in fact he often played piano himself. This 1962 quintet session finds Jeru utilizing the strong talents of pianist Tommy Flanagan along with bassist Ben Tucker, drummer Dave Bailey, and the congas of Alec Dorsey to play seven songs (all but "Get Out of Town" are somewhat obscure). Mulligan is in fine form and, even if the music on this LP is not all that essential, it is quite enjoyable.
Review by Scott Yanow

Return to “Mainstream Jazz, Cool (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”