FileCat premium

Vic Stevens' Mistaken Identities & David Fiuczynski - No Curb Ahead (1997) [Fusion, Jazz-Rock]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Jazz-Rock, Jazz-Funk, Jazzy Blues
User avatar
Posts: 57967
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Vic Stevens' Mistaken Identities & David Fiuczynski - No Curb Ahead (1997) [Fusion, Jazz-Rock]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 19 Jun 2020, 19:08

Artist: Vic Stevens' Mistaken Identities & David Fiuczynski
Album: No Curb Ahead
Genre: Fusion, Jazz-Rock
Label: LOLO Records
Released: 1997
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. Useless Humans (Vic Stevens) 5:48
  2. The Sun Rises In The East (Vic Stevens) 4:46
  3. No Curb Ahead (Chico Huff, Demetrios Pappas) 5:07
  4. Do The Do That You Do (Vic Stevens) 6:14
  5. I Travel Alone (Vic Stevens) 6:35
  6. Would You Like To Dance? (Vic Stevens) 5:06
  7. Answers (Vic Stevens) 6:31
  8. A Party Of Five (Vic Stevens) 5:31
  9. Buy The Weigh (Vic Stevens) 5:22


  • Bass – Chico Huff (tracks: 2 to 5, 7), Percy Jones (tracks: 1, 6, 8)
  • Drums – Vic Stevens
  • Engineer – Bob Kimmel, Vic Stevens (tracks: All)
  • Guitar – Alex Domschot (tracks: 4), David Fiuczynski
  • Keyboards – Demetrios Pappas
  • Mastered By – Chris Muth
  • Mixed By – Bob Kimmel, Vic Stevens
  • Percussion – Pablo Batista
  • Producer – Vic Stevens (tracks: All)
  • Saxophone – Chris Lovely
  • Strings – David Fiuczynski

Drummer/composer Vic Stevens turns in another great collection of accessible and artfully hip sci-fi soundscapes with No Curb Ahead (Lolo Records 011-2; 51:05). From the tongue-in-cheek, raucous revolving piano lines of “Useless Humans” to the sad, fuzzy blue notes of “Answers,” Stevens and his band, Mistaken Identities, craft compositions which combine extreme levels of musicianship, sonic special effects wizardry, and emotional power. This longtime Bon Lozaga collaborator not only builds moods, but also imprints memorable melodies on tracks like the spacey, bass-walking “No Curb Ahead” and the creepy, stirring “By the Way.” Throughout, Stevens utilizes contrasting styles to work out his musical themes, and great supporting musicians like bassist Percy Jones to carry the messages home. One of the album’s highlights-“I Travel Alone”-is a complex timing piece, with a classic blue piano and soprano sax progression laid across an impossibly fast clicking percussion element. The contrasting times and spatial elements wordlessly illustrate travel, speed, longing and loss. This type of inventive composition cuts across genre barriers to strike a common emotional chord-and it’s what makes Stevens’ work so special.

Return to “Jazz Fusion (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”