FileCat premium

Chico Hamilton - The Master (1973/2016) [Jazz-Funk, Fusion]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Jazz-Rock, Jazz-Funk, Jazzy Blues
User avatar
Posts: 62895
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Chico Hamilton - The Master (1973/2016) [Jazz-Funk, Fusion]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 21 Jun 2020, 12:33

Artist: Chico Hamilton
Album: The Master
Genre: Jazz-Funk, Fusion
Label: Stax/Concord/Culture Factory USA
Released: 1973/2016
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. One Day Five Months Ago (8:02)
  2. Feels Good (5:32)
  3. Fancy (3:11)
  4. Stu (3:57)
  5. Gengis (4:06)
  6. Conquistadores '74 (3:34)
  7. Stacy (4:20)
  8. I Can Hear The Grass Grow (4:11)


  • Chico Hamilton - drums
  • Bill Payne - piano
  • Simon Nava - congas
  • George Lowell - guitar
  • Kenny Gradney - bass
  • Paul Barrere - guitar
  • Stu Gardner - organ
  • Sam Clayton - congas
  • Jerry Aiello - organ

A totally excellent bit of funk from Chico Hamilton – working with a great group that more than helps their leader live up to the album's title! The record's a real lost gem – and it's got Chico working in much funkier territory than before, grooving with complicated rhythms, and a heavy sound that features lots of work on organ and guitar. Lowell George (of Little Feat fame) is playing slide guitar in the group, giving the sound a great, muddy propellant – which only gets stronger with the help of Simon Nava and Sam Clayton on congas, plus heavy organ and piano by Stu Garner, Jerry Aiello and Bill Payne. Includes the killer Latin groover "Conquistadores 74", plus "Stu", "Feels Good", "Fancy", "Stacy", Gengis" and "I Can Hear The Grass Grow".

Return to “Jazz Fusion (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”