Black Art Jazz Collective - Ascension (2020) [Post-Bop, Contemporary Jazz]; FLAC (tracks)

Hard Bop, Post-Bop, Neo-Bop
User avatar
Posts: 57097
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Black Art Jazz Collective - Ascension (2020) [Post-Bop, Contemporary Jazz]; FLAC (tracks)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 26 Jun 2020, 20:08

Artist: Black Art Jazz Collective
Album: Ascension
Genre: Post-Bop, Contemporary Jazz
Label: HighNote Records
Released: 2020
Quality: FLAC (tracks)
  1. Ascension
  2. Mr. Willis
  3. Involuntary Servitude
  4. Twin Towers
  5. No Words Needed
  6. Tulsa
  7. Iron Man
  8. For the Kids
  9. Birdie's Bounce


  • Wayne Escoffery (tenor saxophone)
  • Jeremy Pelt (trumpet)
  • James Burton III (trombone)
  • Victor Gould (piano)
  • Rashaan Carter (bass)
  • Mark Whitfield Jr. (drums)

The Black Art Jazz Collective was founded in 2012 by Wayne Escoffery and Jeremy Pelt with the aim of honouring and preserving the art of some of the progenitors of jazz who inspired them, hired them and mentored them first-hand.

And while the band does pay homage to the greats of the past they also continue the evolving tradition of jazz with a body of work that remains firmly entrenched in the modernism of today.

From the angular melody of Escoffery's "Involuntary Servitude," to the ingratiating groove of Pelt's "For the Kids," the ensemble extends the range and potential established by their illustrious predecessors with innovative original compositions, solos that run the gamut from thoughtful to virtuosic and a shared sense of purpose that is unique on today's jazz landscape.

Return to “Bop (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”