FileCat premium

Duke Ellington - Jazz Profile (1997) [Swing, Big Band]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Ragtime, Dixieland, Big Band, New Orleans Jazz, Jump Blues, Neo-Swing
User avatar
Posts: 62895
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Duke Ellington - Jazz Profile (1997) [Swing, Big Band]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 01 Jul 2020, 14:32

Artist: Duke Ellington
Album: Jazz Profile
Genre: Swing, Big Band
Label: Blue Note
Released: 1997
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. Satin Doll (2:59)
  2. Star Dust (2:29)
  3. One O'Clock Jump (5:15)
  4. Stormy Weather (3:12)
  5. Take the "A" Train (5:30)
  6. 4:30 Blues (4:02)
  7. In Triplicate (6:52)
  8. Chile Bowl (2:43)
  9. Janet (2:14)
  10. Happy Reunion (4:34)
  11. Caravan (4:15)
  12. Wig Wise (3:18)


Duke Ellington never recorded for Blue Note, but his sessions for Capitol, United Artists and Solid State are all owned (along with Blue Note) by EMI, making this single-CD sampler possible. On this hodgepodge (and almost random) collection, Duke's orchestra is heard during 1953-54 and at his 70th birthday concert in 1969. In addition, Ellington appears on two trio numbers with bassist Charles Mingus and drummer Max Roach and plays "Happy Reunion" in 1971 with tenorman Paul Gonsalves in a quartet. Although there are some good performances included (1969's "Take the 'A' Train" is superb), there is a great deal missing, most notably 1954's "Flying Home" and Cat Anderson's miraculous solo on 1969's "Satin Doll"; instead one gets the 1953 hit version, which is remarkably dull. Otherwise, the music on this odd set is fine, but far from essential.
Review by Scott Yanow

Return to “Early Jazz, Swing, Gypsy (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”