Anita O'Day - Live in Tokyo '63 (2007) [Vocal Jazz]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Vocal Jazz
User avatar
Posts: 57287
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Anita O'Day - Live in Tokyo '63 (2007) [Vocal Jazz]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 17 Jul 2020, 14:14

Artist: Anita O'Day
Album: Live in Tokyo '63
Genre: Vocal Jazz
Label: Kayo Stereophonic
Released: 2007
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. Boogie Blues (2:02)
  2. Trav'lin' Light (3:36)
  3. Honeysuckle Rose (3:09)
  4. Avalon (2:13)
  5. Bewitched (2:56)
  6. You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To (2:19)
  7. Night and Day (1:49)
  8. Let's Fall in Love (2:20)
  9. Sweet Georgia Brown (3:03)
  10. Tea for Two (2:54)
  11. Stella by Starlight (2:38)
  12. Love for Sale (3:06)
  13. Get Out of Town (2:32)
  14. That Old Feeling (2:15)
  15. Four Brothers (2:52)


In 1963, Anita O'Day was still under contract to Verve when she recorded this album for a Japanese television special. Rare in O'Day's catalog (she has very few live records between the '40s and '70s), it's an excellent chance to hear one of the most breath-taking, free-swinging jazz vocalists appearing in a setting even more loose than her great Verve dates. The results, though, aren't quite perfection -- yes, O'Day is in great voice (despite a little grit to her vocals), while the songs and arrangements are great too, but there's no response from the audience available on this recording (even when she's egging them on). Songs cut off and the sound quality isn't up to par for the digital age. A little more attention to detail by the compilers would have made this a great performance, instead of one that's recommended only for those who can't get enough Anita O'Day.
Review by John Bush

Return to “Vocal Jazz (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”