Actis' Band - Son Para El Che (1999) [Modern Creative]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Chamber Jazz, Improvised Music, Avant-Garde Crossover
User avatar
Posts: 57287
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Actis' Band - Son Para El Che (1999) [Modern Creative]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 03 Aug 2020, 17:23

Artist: Actis' Band
Album: Son Para El Che
Genre: Modern Creative
Label: Splasc(h) Records
Released: 1999
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. Nefertari 7:17
  2. Kumo 5:40
  3. Sole Di Napoli 3:55
  4. La Porta Della Luna 7:51
  5. Puzzle 5:26
  6. Tatu 11:53
  7. Dead Chicken For Breakfast 5:04
  8. Lazymambo 3:52
  9. Intifada 5:19
  10. Tzukulikata 4:41
  11. Son Para El Che 5:58
  12. Last Blow 0:08


  • Carlo Actis Dato: tenor & baritone saxes, bass clarinet
  • Massimo Rossi: alto & soprano saxes
  • Antonio Fontana: guitar
  • Federico Marchesano: acoustic and electric bass
  • Dario Bruna: drums

Wild man Italian saxophonist Carlos Actis Dato is known for his comic antics with the Italian Instabile Orchestra and as leader of his own groups. This recording features him in an unusual setting -- two saxophones, electric guitar, bass and drums -- and Dato takes full advantage, with his best set to date. Combining avant garde jazz solos with Eastern European melodies and an upbeat funky rock beat, the group maneuvers through an eclectic collection of originals, tearing the hide of the ball and covering wide ground. The rhythm section of guitarist Antonio Fontana, bassist Federico Marchesano and drummer Dario Bruna lays down a solid danceable beat, and the saxophones take full advantage. Dato is heard on bass clarinet and tenor and baritone saxes, joined by Massimo Rossi on soprano and alto saxophones. The results thoroughly invigorate, and if excesses occasionally emerge, they do not seem out of place.

Return to “Modern Creative, Third Stream (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”