Mel Torme - Spotlight on Mel Torme (1994) [Vocal Jazz]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Vocal Jazz
User avatar
Posts: 49676
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

Mel Torme - Spotlight on Mel Torme (1994) [Vocal Jazz]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 09 Sep 2020, 16:41

Artist: Mel Torme
Album: Spotlight on Mel Torme
Genre: Vocal Jazz
Label: Capitol Records
Released: 1994
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. Oh, You Beautiful Doll (2:18)
  2. My Buddy (2:48)
  3. Stompin' at the Savoy (2:34)
  4. Blue Moon (3:11)
  5. I Love Each Move You Make (2:43)
  6. You're Getting to Be a Habit with Me (3:06)
  7. It's Too Late Now (3:13)
  8. Heart and Soul (2:56)
  9. Lullaby of the Leaves (2:22)
  10. Do Do Do (2:29)
  11. Sonny Boy (2:45)
  12. Bewitched (3:19)
  13. You're a Heavenly Thing (2:31)
  14. Skylark (3:08)
  15. Careless Hands (3:15)
  16. I Hadn't Anyone Till You (3:09)
  17. I've Got a Feeling I'm Falling (2:51)
  18. Recipe for Romance (2:31)


This very interesting CD gives listeners a cross section of Mel Tormé's Capitol recordings. Caught fairly early in his career, Tormé's voice was already quite recognizable and appealing. Ballads alternate with occasional romps, including several arranged by Frank DeVol in 1949 that are surprisingly boppish; Pete Rugolo, Nelson Riddle, and Sonny Burke take care of the other charts. Highlights of the 18 cuts (four of which were previously unreleased) include a wild "Oh, You Beautiful Doll," "Stompin' at the Savoy," "Blue Moon," a spirited "Sonny Boy," and "You're a Heavenly Thing" (which finds Mel Tormé playing piano in a quartet with guitarist Mary Osborne).
Review by Scott Yanow

Return to “Vocal Jazz (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”