The New Mastersounds - Therapy (2014) [Funk, Soul]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Funk, Soul, R&B
User avatar
Posts: 56492
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 16:51

The New Mastersounds - Therapy (2014) [Funk, Soul]; FLAC (tracks+.cue)

Unread postby Mike1985 » 04 Apr 2021, 20:59

Artist: The New Mastersounds
Album: Therapy
Genre: Funk, Soul
Label: One Note Records
Released: 2014
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
  1. Old Man Noises (2:54)
  2. Morning Fly (4:07)
  3. I Want You to Stay (feat. Kim Dawson) (4:50)
  4. Monday Meters (2:27)
  5. When It Rains... (7:03)
  6. Whistle Song (3:26)
  7. Soul Sista (feat. Kim Dawson) (2:55)
  8. Stop This Game (5:44)
  9. Slow Down (feat. Ryan Zoidis) (3:59)
  10. WWIII (And How to Avoid It) (4:07)
  11. Detox (4:42)
  12. Treasure (5:03)


The New Mastersounds aren't new by this point. Therapy is the band's ninth studio album, produced, as always, by the band's guitarist Eddie Roberts, and recorded at Scanhope Sound in Colorado, and thankfully, nothing new is going on with it. The album is full of funk grooves, greasy Memphis-styled soul stomps, breezy jazz touches, and enough bouncing joy to get the whole world to take to the dancefloor, so it's business as usual for this fine and durable funk outfit out of Leeds, England. Things roar right out of the gate with the opener, "Old Man Noises," full of sweet Hammond organ and wah-wah guitar, and if this is the noise that old men make, well, being old is definitely a thick and solid groove. These guys aren't a one-trick pony, though. "Morning Fly" is a jaunty bit of soul-jazz, while "Slow Down," aided by guest saxophonist Ryan Zoidis, sounds like it could be a long lost Earth, Wind & Fire side. Switching from the Hammond to a Fender Rhodes, keyboardist Joe Tatton makes "Detox" echo like a classic rainy-day Doors backing track. "Monday Meters" pays homage to the Meters, even clocking in at a short 2:25, as the Meters were wont to do. The New Mastersounds introduced vocals into their instrumental stew with 2011's Breaks from the Border album, and there are a couple tracks here with vocals, including vocals from guest Kim Dawson on "I Want You to Stay" and "Soul Sista," but they're arguably the weakest tracks here. This is a band that speaks volumes without the need for lyrics, riding thick grooves and inventive rhythms, inviting the whole world to surrender and hit the dancefloor. It isn't new, what these guys do, and thankfully they're still doing it. Call it therapy.

Return to “Funk, Soul, R&B (lossless - FLAC, APE, etc.)”